#HockeyFamily

What I wanted to do wasn’t so much a re-naming of this blog, more an initial naming.  When I started it a month or so ago, I needed a title for it and just typed in something as a placeholder.  It was never supposed to be long term, and to be fair, when I started, I didn’t know what my blog was going to be about, other than “hockey”.

I had the name CarolinaKaniac as the URL of the blog, as it’s the name I go by online and wanted to keep everything uniform, but it wasn’t suitable – CarolinaKaniac is me, not the blog..

It occurred to me a few days ago that if I wanted people to talk about my blog, it needed a name, in the same way my other favourite hockey blogs do: March Hockey, Frozen Steel, Chasing Dragons, Strike The Puck.  But I wanted something that referenced what I’m trying to do with this blog.  I also wanted to include something that shows my commitment to social media, and its importance in promoting the sport.

I wanted something that reflects the diversity in the hockey that I’m writing about.  Something that reminds people that there is so much more to hockey than what we get to watch on TV, or follow through mainstream media.  I wanted it to include everyone; men, women and kids; able-bodied and disabled players; those in professional, amateur and recreational leagues; fans, spectators, referees, off-ice officials, players, owners, coaches.

That’s a hell of a lot to fit into one title.  So I thought about, and suddenly the answer became obvious.

#HockeyFamily

Because that’s what we are.

Leave a Reply

