Why I’ve Been So Quiet…

Admittedly, the off season for hockey does make it harder to find things to blog about (unless we want to discuss the ridiculous trade the Philadelphia Flyers just made with the Columbus Blue Jackets!), but there is still hockey happening (the New Zealand season has recently started up – I really need to watch some of those games).

However, in the last few weeks, my life has become a little more hectic.  As well as real life crap, which I’m totally trying to ignore, I’ve become a lot more involved in the British Sledge Hockey League (BSHA), in particular, helping to get the newest team in the league going, the Sheffield Steelkings.  It’s been a chaotic couple of weeks, finding myself learning more about the behind-the-scenes aspect of hockey than I ever previously considered.  And what I’m doing is still barely scratching the surface.

What I have discovered though is how many amazing sledge players we have in this country, and how much determination they all have.  All eyes in the sledge hockey world are looking towards the World Championships, and – eventually – towards the 2018 Winter Paralympics in Pyeongchang, and the players on our teams here are no exception.  I’m lucky enough to have met quite a few of the players now, and I truly believe they can make it to the Paralympics in four years time.  And I intend to be there with them, cheering them on.

But the best thing about all of this is how it’s changing me.  If you know me in real life, you’ll know that I don’t do human interaction very well.  I struggle to make small talk, and I can barely hold a conversation (unless it’s about hockey, then I can talk for hours!).  But now I’m having to talk to complete strangers, introduce myself to them without any preparation.  I’m talking to more people online on a daily basis now than I have done in years.

I am still very much struggling though, and if I’m talking to you online and suddenly disappear, or make an excuse why I have to leave, please don’t take it personally.  I’m trying my best to improve at this, and I’ll continue trying for as long as I can be a help to the BSHA.

Just one more think to be thankful to my #HockeyFamily for.

2 thoughts on “Why I’ve Been So Quiet…

  1. Gemma Beer

    Just read this post and it is so great for many reasons.
    What you do for British sledge Hockey in promoting the sport is brilliant; you really do a great job! I totally get where you’re coming from when you say you’re changing as a person (in a good way!) I’m very shy myself, and having to talk to, let alone interview, hockey players last season was daunting but has definitely helped me to become more confident. So keep up the great work Kim!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

