Guest Blogger!

Bt0Z1XOCEAAEmduHi there!

Kim has asked if I would write some guest posts in regards to the England Women’s Ice Hockey squad. I’m more than happy to do so and will be putting up some posts in the next few days and weeks.

This is merely an introduction post to let you know a little about me.

I’m Sam, I live in Luton, play roller hockey & ice hockey. I’ve played roller hockey for a lot longer than I have ice hockey. I started when I was 11 or 12 back when I lived in South London.

Now that I’ve ‘grown up’, gotten a job and a house; I still need my hockey fix. I’ve been playing ice hockey for 3 years with my local ladies club, the Milton Keynes Falcons in the Premier league, I’ve also had the honour of playing for the England squad. This year I have been picked to represent the country again. (More on that in later posts!)

My first hockey love though, is inline roller hockey. My local club is the Dunstable Gators and we play in the BIPHA South league in Division One down at Bisley. This is a mixed team and I love playing hockey with my boys.

I’ve also represented GB at roller hockey level, back in 2010 and travelled with the squad to LA to play in the AAU tournament. In other hockey travels I’ve played out in Hong Kong in the fantastic annual roller hockey tournament out there and also in the NARCh finals tournament in San Jose. The NARCh tournament has to arguably be the best roller hockey in the world with such an amazing array of talent on display.

Anyway, enough of hockey on wheels, I’m here to talk about my journey onto the England squad both last year and this year and hopefully get some information out there that does not seem to be freely available.

I hope you enjoy my posts and I’ll be back soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

